Review 68 – A Good Old Fashioned Orgy

filmquest12

Sometimes an orgy is about a lot more than just sex.

A Good Old Fashioned Orgy

Why I Saw It: I still haven’t made up my mind about Jason Sudeikis, whose work I’ve enjoyed on SNL, Horrible Bosses and Hall Pass, but I’ve yet to see a break-out role where he puts himself into the category of what Adam Sandler and some other SNL alums have done. I wanted to see more of Nick Kroll away from The League (where he’s VERY entertaining). I’ve always liked Martin Starr’s work, especially from Freaks & Geeks and Party Down.  I also thought this was a good chance to get acquainted with Tyler Labine, who has a starring role in a movie I keep hearing good things about, Tucker & Dale Vs Evil.

Memorable Performances: After the first couple scenes, I was afraid Tyler Labine was going to be an anchor for the film (and not in a good way), but I was pleasantly surprised. Nothing special from anyone else. Sudeikis gave the type of performance I was expecting, and Nick Kroll was similar to what he does on The League, but not to the extent that I’d remember him for this role.

The Regrettable Aspects: I wasn’t expecting Shakespeare, or even anything as clever as a Wes Anderson movie, but the script wasn’t very good. Very formulaic with no surprises along the way, and although there were a few laughs along the way, it wasn’t anything other than an average comedy.

Would I watch it again? If someone else wanted to watch it, I would watch it again, but I wouldn’t seek it out. It had the potential to be a below average comedy, so it succeeded in not being terrible, but I wouldn’t give it much more credit than that.

To Whom Would I Recommend It? I probably know a few people who enjoyed Hall Pass to whom I would recommend this movie, but other than that, I’d have to be really selective with others. It’s not an especially raunchy film by any stretch of the imagination, but I’d rather not have someone blame me for a wasted evening of sub-par entertainment.

Rating: 7.5 out of 10 (but likely to go down when I reconsider a few film rankings)

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’12:  

  • None

Lastly, I’m also looking into different formats for my reviews, so any suggestions / critiques are welcomed.

Leave a Reply

