Review 67 – Serenity

Serenity-Crew-malcolm-reynolds-2074

It’s like Han Solo has a brother who is just as cool and interesting as he is, and so is the crew of his ship.

Serenity

Why I Saw It: Some people whose entertainment-related opinions I trust had recommended the television series Firefly. After watching the entire 13-episode series, I felt the hunger pangs for more. Seeing this movie, filmed in response to overwhelming support from the show’s fanbase, was not just the natural next step, but rather an imperative.

Memorable Performances: It’s hard to single out one or two performances which were the most memorable, especially because it’s hard to differentiate between this movie and the series as a whole.

The Regrettable Aspects: There wasn’t a sequel. There isn’t a continuation of the series beyond this point. That’s the only thing that’s regrettable about this movie, is that it serves as the endpoint. There’s a character whom I wish hadn’t died in this movie, but I wouldn’t call it regrettable.

Would I watch it again? I actually watched it twice during the weekend of my first viewing. It’s tough to say whether viewers would enjoy it if they haven’t seen the Firefly series, but I’ll be looking to test that question in 2013.  If an Animated Series is made, I’ll be watching that too.

To Whom Would I Recommend It? Anyone who likes the Han Solo character should watch this film. There’s a significant amount of violence, but I don’t recall it being especially graphic.

Rating: 9.1 out of 10

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’12:  

  • Best Actor – Nathan Fillion
  • Best Supporting Actress – Summer Glau

Lastly, I’m also looking into different formats for my reviews, so any suggestions / critiques are welcomed.

Leave a Reply

