Review 61 – Friends With Kids

If Bridesmaids had ended differently, this could’ve been the sequel. Somehow.

Friends With Kids

Why I Saw It: The cast and the concept. I’ve got kids, and I’ve got friends, and I’ve got friends with kids and so that part of the concept spoke directly to me. The cast had a lot of people in it whom I find interesting (Adam Scott, Jon Hamm, Kristen Wiig, Chris O’Dowd) and not being as familiar with Jennifer Westfeldt, I thought this was a good place to start acquainting myself with her (she acts in, directs and wrote this movie; my general interest in her comes from the fact that she’s the long-time girlfriend/significant other to Jon Hamm).

Memorable Performances: Chris O’Dowd continues to be an actor whose work I enjoy quite a bit, and there was no let-down there. I’ve enjoyed other roles from Adam Scott better than what he accomplished here, but it’s not necessarily due to anything he did. Being that this was my first real exposure to Jennifer Westfeldt, I’ll probably remember her performance as well.

The Regrettable Aspects: Aside from there not being many (if any) laugh out loud moments, I honestly can’t think of anything, which probably explains the high rating I gave it.

Would I watch it again? Absolutely, though I didn’t enjoy it enough that I would seek it out. Not necessarily “fun” enough. Almost a “dramedy”.

Rating: 8.0 out of 10

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’12:  

  • Best Supporting Actor – Chris O’Dowd

Lastly, I’m also looking into different formats for my reviews, so any suggestions / critiques are welcomed.

One response to “Review 61 – Friends With Kids

  1. Pingback: Your Sister’s Sister [Review 30 for FQ13] | Guys Film Quest·

Leave a Reply

