Review 55 – I Am Reed Fish

Even though life in a small town can be boring, that doesn’t mean there’s not enough content for a movie.

I Am Reed Fish

Why I Saw It: My list of actors (and actresses) with potential to be on my “seek out” list includes Jay Baruchel. This movie was available on Netflix Instant. I’d never heard of it, and that intrigued me.

Memorable Performances: The only thing close to memorable about this film was Schuyler Fisk, who had great chemistry with Jay Baruchel. You might also know her from Orange County.

The Regrettable Aspects: The pacing was slow and the story didn’t have much meat to it. As it got to the end of the film we get a slight twist on the tale, and it threw things for a slight loop, but not in a way that benefited the movie. Could’ve been executed considerably better. Alexis Bledel has a habit of either being charming or bland in her movies, and this one should’ve been one of the charming roles… and it wasn’t.

Would I watch it again? If someone REALLY wanted to, I would, but I wouldn’t seek out the opportunity.

Rating: 6.5 out of 10

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’12:  

  • none

Lastly, I’m also looking into different formats for my reviews, because quite honestly the long versions with paragraphs won’t cut it… and most people just skim through them anyway. Suggestions / critiques welcomed.

Leave a Reply

