Review 54 – J. Edgar

Yet again DiCaprio brilliantly transforms himself into a historic figure with inter-personal issues.

J. Edgar

Why I Saw It: The early decades of the intelligence community is a part of history which intrigues me, and because Leonardo DiCaprio almost always does a great job.

Memorable Performances: Obviously Leonardo DiCaprio’s performance was great, Armie Hammer had a strong performance, and Jeffrey Donovan did an excellent job as Robert F. Kennedy.

The Regrettable Aspects: The movie felt a lot longer than it was.

Would I watch it again? I’d consider watching it again, but I won’t be seeking it out, and when I recommend it to people, I’d mention that we can talk about it once they’ve watched it (instead of watching it with them).

Rating: 8.0 out of 10 (primarily for the quality of the film, not necessarily for any “enjoyment” factor)

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’12:  

  • Best Actor – Leonardo DiCaprio
  • Best Supporting Actor – Armie Hammer
  • Best Supporting Actor – Jeffrey Donovan

Lastly, I’m also looking into different formats for my reviews, because quite honestly the long versions with paragraphs won’t cut it… and most people just skim through them anyway. Suggestions / critiques welcomed.

Leave a Reply

