Review 53 – Nowhere Boy

The rise to greatness is often a more interesting movie than what happens once stardom is achieved.

Nowhere Boy

Why I Saw It: My initial viewing of a trailer for this movie made it look like it would be worth watching, and the younger years of John Lennon was a topic of interest to me. Aaron Johnson is someone whom I’m considering for my “must see” list, so this was an essential part of that research.

Memorable Performances: Aaron Johnson gave a very strong performance, and Thomas Brodie-Sangster did a good job portraying Paul McCartney. Anne-Marie Duff did a great job at points in the film. At other times I found her performance to be somewhat creepy, which made me wonder whether the script and intention was to go that route, or whether they made questionable decisions in allowing the performance to go that route.

The Regrettable Aspects: The only thing I can point to for this would be the first few mother/son interactions, as I alluded to in the “Memorable Performances” section.

Would I watch it again? Absolutely, though if only to make sure my parents get to watch it, as they’re Beatles fans.

Rating: 7.4 out of 10

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’12:  

  • Best Actor – Aaron Johnson
  • Best Supporting Actor – Thomas Brodie-Sangster
  • Best Supporting Actress – Anne-Marie Duff

Lastly, I’m also looking into different formats for my reviews, because quite honestly the long versions with paragraphs won’t cut it… and most people just skim through them anyway. Suggestions / critiques welcomed.

Leave a Reply

