Review 52 – Sucker Punch

If a girl wants to daydream about killing people while dancing to escape reality and to distract people upon whom vengeance might be inflicted, who am I to stop her?

Sucker Punch

Why I Saw It: With Zack Snyder taking over the Superman franchise, I wanted to get more familiar with his work. The stylized nature of the movie and the fact that it’s about a group of attractive girls kicking some ass didn’t hurt its cause, either.

Memorable Performances: I’ll never be able to hear “Army Of Me” by Bjork without thinking about this movie. Emily Browning, by the very nature of her involvement in the plot, gave a memorable performance. Perhaps I’ll remember Jena Malone in the movie as well, but that might be due to her being a pivotal character. This is the first role I remember seeing Abbie Cornish in, and I might only remember her being in the movie because I’ve heard her name mentioned by various people and I hadn’t recalled seeing her in anything else but this.

The Regrettable Aspects: The dance that Emily Browning does… the way they featured that in the film was great… but also regrettable. It’s probably better that they depict it the way that they do, and the movie would probably suffer if they better depicted it… but depending what your perspective is, this could be considered regrettable. I also didn’t like the way the film ended.

Would I watch it again? I won’t actively seek out an opportunity to watch this again, but certainly if the chance presents itself, I’m sure I’d enjoy another viewing.

Rating: 8 out of 10

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’12:  

  • Best Actress – Emily Browning

Lastly, I’m also looking into different formats for my reviews, because quite honestly the long versions with paragraphs won’t cut it… and most people just skim through them anyway. Suggestions / critiques welcomed.

Leave a Reply

