Review 51 – Easy A

The scarlet letter has much different impact on your reputation than it used to.

Easy A

Why I Saw It: When Hollywood takes a concept from old movies or literature and considers it within the scope of modern society (or simply a different era than that of its original source material), it intrigues me enough to give it a watch. The reviews I was hearing of the film and on Emma Stone’s rising “star” had me interested in seeing what the hype was all about.

Memorable Performances: Emma Stone did a good job with her role, though I wouldn’t say it was worthy of significant amounts of praise. Aside from that, the other performances were good, but none were especially memorable.

The Regrettable Aspects: The sub-plot involving her guidance councilor and one of her teachers could’ve been better executed, as could the token “socially conservative” classmate. Those are just minor disappointments, and they didn’t significantly detract from the film.

Would I watch it again? Probably. I wasn’t necessarily  wow’ed by the film, and with all the other great movies out there, I probably wouldn’t want to watch it again, but it wouldn’t be too taxing.

Rating: 7.5 out of 10

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’12:  

  • None

Lastly, I’m also looking into different formats for my reviews, because quite honestly the long versions with paragraphs won’t cut it… and most people just skim through them anyway. Suggestions / critiques welcomed.

Leave a Reply

