Review 49 – Dark Knight Rises

It’s only okay to stop being Batman if you go out on your own terms… or something like that.

Dark Knight Rises

Why I Saw It: I… like Christopher Nolan? Huge fan of The Dark Knight? Okay… you got me… it’s all about Marion Cotillard and Joseph Gordon-Levitt.

Memorable Performances: Joseph Gordon-Levitt did a really good job as… whatever his name was. Marion Cotillard was enjoyable as always. Same goes for Morgan Freeman, Gary Oldman and Michael Caine. Christian Bale gave a better performance here than he did in The Dark Knight. Anne Hathaway’s performance was under-rated and great. But Tom Hardy clearly stole the show in this one… except for scenes where Cillian Murphy was involved.

The Regrettable Aspects: The way they built up the story in the beginning, contrasted with the idealism shown by Bruce Wayne towards the end of the film, was a bit disappointing in hindsight, but that’s the only thing keeping this from being an all-time great movie.

Would I watch it again? I’ll watch it the first week of 2013, likely during a trilogy viewing, and probably at least three more times throughout the year, which is more than I’ll probably watch any other film in 2013.

Rating: 9.6 out of 10

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’12:  

  • Best Supporting Actress – Anne Hathaway
  • Best Supporting Actress – Marion Cotillard
  • Best Supporting Actor – Tom Hardy
  • Best Actor – Christian Bale

Lastly, I’m also looking into different formats for my reviews, because quite honestly the long versions with paragraphs won’t cut it… and most people just skim through them anyway. Suggestions / critiques welcomed.

2 responses to “Review 49 – Dark Knight Rises

  1. Still my favorite movie of the year and I think that is all thanks to Mr. Nolan himself. He ends it so perfectly that I mean, I can totally see why so many people would be disappointed, but at the same time, I totally couldn’t either. Just a great film all-around. Good review.

Leave a Reply

