Review 48 – Jeff, Who Lives At Home

He might not believe in you, but he’s your brother, so you need to support him.

Jeff, Who Lives At Home

Why I Saw It: I like the Duplass brothers, and I like off-beat indie comedies, and Ed Helms, and Jason Segel. Susan Sarandon has a tendency to light my fire as well, but I didn’t know she was in it until I started watching.

Memorable Performances: Ed Helms was a lot more memorable in his supporting role than Jason Segel’s starring role, but Helms’ was a more interesting character.

The Regrettable Aspects: The storyline with Susan Sarandon and her co-worker was interesting, but the pay-off felt a bit flat. The relationship between Ed Helms and Judy Greer felt strained, and I suppose that’s how it was written, but it was easily my least favorite part of the movie.

Would I watch it again? I doubt I’ll ever get back around to it. If I ever do some sort of film study on the Duplass brothers, I guess I might look into it.

Rating: 7.2 out of 10

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’12:  

  • None

Lastly, I’m also looking into different formats for my reviews, because quite honestly the long versions with paragraphs won’t cut it… and most people just skim through them anyway. Suggestions / critiques welcomed.

Leave a Reply

