Review 47 – Snow White And The Huntsman

The quest to not be a hideous looking witch is far more understandable than just wanting to be prettier than everyone.

Snow White & The Huntsman

Why I Saw It: Out of the two Snow White movies which recently hit theaters, this one looked bad-ass, and the other (Mirror Mirror) looked terrible. It looked slightly creepy with some artistic sensibilities… and I like to see what Kristen Stewart can do when she’s not involved in Twilight flicks.

Memorable Performances: Charlize Theron had a great role, and she did quite a bit with it. Hemsworth and Stewart were above average, but nothing to write home about.

The Regrettable Aspects: The dwarves could’ve been better, and the storyline could’ve been more expediently delivered and more interesting to help fill some of the slower moments.

Would I watch it again? I’m guessing that some day, my son will probably hear about the film and he’ll want to see what it’s all about, so a decade from now, I’ll give it another viewing. If and when a sequel is released, I’ll probably also revisit it to familiarize myself with the world they established. I can’t say that I’ll be checking it out for any purposes other than that.

Rating: 7.4 out of 10

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’12:  

  • Best Supporting Actress – Charlize Theron
  • Best Special Effects

Lastly, I’m also looking into different formats for my reviews, because quite honestly the long versions with paragraphs won’t cut it… and most people just skim through them anyway. Suggestions / critiques welcomed.

Leave a Reply

