Review 46 – Attack The Block

When extra-terrestrial dogs are on the attack, you’d better hope your dawgs are well-armed.

Attack The Block

Why I Saw It: Everyone I heard talk about this movie was raving about how great it was, and when a British action/comedy gets that sort of response for an indie film, I’m all over it.

Memorable Performances: John Boyega did a great job as Moses, starting off as a menacing punk who you’d like to see get punched in the mouth, and ends the film as a protagonist you can cheer for while feeling a bit sorry for his situation. Apart from that, there were plenty of good performances, but I’m not sure how many of them are going to be memorable two years from now.

The Regrettable Aspects: The special effects were more than sufficient, the presentation was great, the acting was realistic… The only thing that dropped my enjoyment level was the fact that sci-fi / horror flicks aren’t necessarily my typical genres of choice.

Would I watch it again? I’ll watch it at the earliest opportunity in 2013 where I find someone who would enjoy it.

Rating: 8.5 out of 10

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’12:  

  • Best Actor – John Boyega
  • Best Special Effects

Lastly, I’m also looking into different formats for my reviews, because quite honestly the long versions with paragraphs won’t cut it… and most people just skim through them anyway. Suggestions / critiques welcomed.

2 responses to “Review 46 – Attack The Block

    • I heard plenty of praise before I saw it, but I definitely wasn’t expecting it to be THAT good AND entertaining (as “entertaining” and “good” don’t always coincide). Thanks for the feedback!

Leave a Reply

