Review 45 – The Amazing Spider-Man

He’s your friendly, sarcastic, witty, fun-loving neighborhood Spider-Man.

The Amazing Spider-Man

Why I Saw It: Because I’ve been a big fan of Spider-Man since I was a kid. I’d watch the old live-action TV show from the late 70’s / early 80’s if they released it in theaters.

Memorable Performances: Andrew Garfield as a much better Spider-Man than Tobey Maguire was, Dennis Leary as two reasons to have it out for our protagonist with his dual role as father and Police Captain, and Rhys Ifans as the obsessive scientist who will do anything to advance genetic science to assist in fixing his deformity. And a special mention to the great action sequences, which aren’t necessarily attributable to Garfield nor Ifans.

The Regrettable Aspects: The only thing I can point out is that I didn’t much enjoy the post-credits scene because it didn’t do much of anything. I wasn’t expecting the chemistry between Emma Stone and Andrew Garfield to be as good as it was, so that certainly wasn’t a problem.

Would I watch it again? I’ll probably watch it in the first week of 2013, after I try my hardest to hit 100 new films before 2012 is over.

Rating: 9.0 out of 10

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’12:  

  • Best Supporting Actor – Rhys Ifans
  • Best Special Effects

Lastly, I’m also looking into different formats for my reviews, because quite honestly the long versions with paragraphs won’t cut it… and most people just skim through them anyway. Suggestions / critiques welcomed.

2 responses to “Review 45 – The Amazing Spider-Man

    • I always liked the sarcastic / witty / trash-talking version of Spider-Man, and I never really thought Tobey Maguire did a good job with that aspect. Perhaps it was because of the script, but his voice is a bit too nasal and whiny.

Leave a Reply

