Review 42 – Prometheus

If you seek out to meet your creator, you might do just that.

Prometheus

Why I Saw It: Despite not being a huge fan of the Alien series, I was interested in the potential for a prequel that welcomes us to the world of Weylan.

Memorable Performances: Michael Fassbender cements his spot in my “seek out” list with a haunting and wonderful performance. Noomi Rapace shows she’s still a capable actress in movies with moderates amount of action and drama. Guy Pearce did such a great job that I barely recognized him. Charlize Theron took a character which could’ve been great with a slightly better script, took some mediocre content and made it above average.

The Regrettable Aspects: Though it didn’t affect my ability to enjoy the film during my first viewing, in hindsight there are quite a few plot holes and head-scratching aspects to the storyline. Though most of the special effects were awesome, the makeup on Guy Pearce detracted from his performance, as did the effects involved with the medical situation faced by Noomi Rapace’s character.

Would I watch it again? When a sequel comes out, and I’d be disappointed if it didn’t, I’ll absolutely watch this movie again. The beautiful visuals and the groundwork it lays for future prequels for multiple film franchises (I’ll get to that in a separate article) makes additional viewings necessary.

Rating: 7 out of 10

Potential Nominations for Film Quest ’12: 

  • Best Supporting Actor – Michael Fassbender

Lastly, I’m looking into different formats for my reviews, because quite honestly the long versions with paragraphs won’t cut it… and most people just skim through them anyway. Suggestions / critiques welcomed.

One response to “Review 42 – Prometheus

  1. Good review. I really can’t go into great detail with this flick as much as you have because I didn’t really love it, but I did enjoy most of it while being disappointed by others. I don’t know, maybe it was just that the film played too much like Alien and was predictable because of that. Either way, I’m glad you liked it.

Leave a Reply

